Saturday, October 6, 2012

Finlandia: The Phoenix

Johnny at his free skate practice this morning. 
Photo tweeted by @ESJW.



UPDATE: 
Congratulations, Johnny, 
on an amazing and powerful 
comeback to competition!! 

Johnny finished 4th at Finlandia, 
and is now preparing for Rostelecom Cup / 
Cup of Russia on November 9. 
So excited to see him perform these 
beautiful programs again next month!!


Johnny in his Phoenix costume. 
Beautifully done: the details offer quiet echoes 
of Fallen Angel while also evoking 
a new beginning for Johnny on the ice. 
Photo posted to Facebook by Absolute Skating.


Johnny's free skate: "Phoenix." 
Completely in love with this music. 
A gorgeous, soaring program, in which Johnny shares 
both bitter ashes and hopeful rebirth with his audience. 
Like Fallen Angel, the program takes us on an 
unforgettable journey that promises to be 
even more breathtaking as the season progresses.


Another view.


Johnny after the competition concluded. 
Photo posted to Facebook by Absolute Skating: 
"Johnny Weir wasn't on the podium 
but has certainly the most loving fans. 
He had after comp his own 
very crowded press conference."



Reminder: Two ALL-NEW 
Be Good Johnny Weir episodes air 
Monday, 10 pm EDT / 9 pm CDT on Logo!

Episode 207: Johnny is facing the hardest decision of his life. He has to choose whether he wants to go back to competitive ice skating. He seeks the advice of his mom and his closest friends.

Episode 208: Watch out Las Vegas, Johnny Weir is on his way! Johnny and his team fly to Las Vegas to decide where to set the upcoming "Spectacular" show. Meanwhile Josh has big news for Tara.

Gaaaaah I can't believe the season finale (which includes Victor!) is scheduled for next week already!!



Just a brief blog this morning of highlights from today's free skate practice and performance.

IMPORTANT: Please note the updated Finlandia schedule below!! Johnny will be in Group 3 today. Men's Free Skate begins at 5:30 pm Finnish time / 10:30 am EDT. Johnny will skate 3rd in Group 3, so nearly at the end of the event.

LINKS — Schedule: http://www.stll.fi/@Bin/3056453/Finlandia_Trophy_2012_+4.10+Aikataulu.pdf

Starting order/results: http://www.figureskatingresults.fi/results/1213/FT2012/SEG002.HTM

Programming note: I am actually in the middle of moving today (!), so I may not be able to provide updates until much later in the weekend. Please follow @ninniFancinelli and @team_swan on Twitter for up-to-the-minute commentary and results!

This morning Victor asked: "Ready for The #phoenix?"

Yes. So very ready for Johnny to be reborn on his beloved ice, to rise, and to soar as no one else can.

Ganbatte, Johnny!! We are with you, we love you, and we believe in you!!



Back of the costume. 
Photo tweeted by @ESJW.


A happy and relaxed Johnny. 
Photo tweeted by @ESJW.


Johnny and Galina. 
Photo tweeted by Gary Podschun.


Johnny's free skate practice. 
Love this music so much.


Another look.



UPDATED: 
One-Hour Finlandia Highlights Broadcast
Saturday, October 6
on Finnish YLETV2 and streaming here
5:15 pm Finland time 
10:15 am EDT
9:15 am CDT
8:15 am MDT
7:15 am PDT

UPDATED:
Men's Free Skate
Starting Order
Saturday, October 6
5:30 pm Finland time
10:30 am EDT
9:30 am CDT
8:30am MDT
7:30 am PDT

UPDATED:
Men's Victory Ceremony
Saturday, October 6
8:17 pm Finland time
1:17 pm EDT
12:17 pm CDT
11:17 am MDT
10:17 am PDT

UPDATED: 
Final Finlandia Highlights Broadcast
Sunday, October 7
on Finnish YLETV2 and streaming here 
5:20 pm – 7 pm Finland time
10:20 am – 12 noon EDT
9:20 am – 11 am CDT
8:20 am – 10 am MDT
7:20 am – 9 am PDT





New on Johnny's website!! 
East Coasters, you're invited to dot429's cocktail reception 
hosted by Johnny on Friday, October 12, 
at the Tribeca Grand Hotel in NYC.  The event is 
part of dot429's three-day conference, "Straight Talk." 
More info / tickets here!



Please alert absolutely everyone you've ever met 
to "like" and follow the new 
on Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr
Because he should be on all the things. 
With or without ice. 
But definitely with Viacheslav.



A new post from Patti 
on Johnny's Comeback Gift Fund website
Please go read it now!



But wait, there's more!!! 
Set those DVRs now: 10 pm EDT / 9 pm CDT 
for new BGJW episodes every Monday only on Logo!
Please be sure to check in with GetGlue
anytime you're watching the show... 
or thinking about watching the show.... 
or wishing you were watching the show....



HE REALLY, REALLY IS!! 
Landing quads and kicking ass 
at a Grand Prix event near you!
Read his comeback statement 
on his website!



Please be sure to read Johnny's fabulous
London 2012 blog entries on People.com! 
Here's a listing of his blog posts (newest first):
My First Impressions of the London Olympic Games
Fierce Competition (and Fashion!) at London Games



Yes, YOU can be a part of Johnny's comeback!  
Please visit Johnny's Comeback Gift Fund today 
and chip in as little as $1 via PayPal. 
Our small gifts can help make his dream of competing 
in his third Olympic Games come true!
And now you can leave a message 
of support for Johnny, too!



Please click to vote for Johnny 
once a day as "Best Sportsman"
Because he retweeted Luisa Lotka to tell us 
he wants us to! (Note: With his "58.132" rating, 
he is currently in 1st place in both 
Figure Skating AND across all sports!)




Q and A! Go read it now!



with MAC is pretty much sold out, 
but I'm leaving this video on here 
for a little while longer 
because I love it so much.



Yes! Johnny's dresses are now available
for purchase only on eDressMe.com!



At last: Pop Star On Ice is now available on DVD!
Order yours today from the Pop Star On Ice website!



Johnny tweeted:
"Buy my single,'Dirty Love' via iTunes.
Tell all your friends to as well. The more copies sold
takes me one step closer to making a video! №1!"

IN THE SAME WAY THAT IT NEEDS AIR.
You know what to do.
Please buy the song from Johnny's website,
or just click the "Buy" button on the player
at the top of the blog!



Hey, Welcome to My World also is available
as an eBook! More info on Johnny's website!


copyright 2012 / Binky and the Misfit Mimes / Lynn V. Ingogly / all rights reserved





3 comments:

aaaack said...

Another part of the beautiful music is Chopin's Nocturne in C Sharp Minor.

Carmina said...

...got major chills and tears just from watching the practice - ugh! dammit Johnny, there you go again, making me feel this way!...I can't imagine what I'll be like seeing him in actual competition (gathering whatever tissues I can find, and buying the entire stock of them from the nearest big box store AKA Target)
...the music is perfect in evoking the intensity of the phoenix rising from the ashes, and I definitely see the correlation of this costume with his Fallen Angel costume...BEAUTIFUL...no one else can tell a story (a personal one, at that) like he does, on the ice...I am thrilled for him to be back in competition - the best is yet to come...Sending Johnny best wishes and hugs - you make us proud!

Anuradha said...

This was so great weekend!!! <3 <3 <3